My Week

This has been a bit of a rough week for me.

Last Saturday, I made a visit to the dentist (wow, do I love being fully insured again!!), where I got a cleaning and had a tooth extracted.  Having a gaping hole in my mouth wasn’t too bad.  I was all drugged up and woozy on Saturday, but when I woke up Sunday, it was already healing and I didn’t really feel any pain, which was cool.

Well, as the week progressed, it started to hurt again.  Not like, serious pain or anything, but a rough and annoying kind of pain.  Still, I fought through it.

What particularly sucked about my week, though, was business at work.

Right now, I am working in the receiving area of a warehouse.  For those of you who don’t know, that specifically means that as new product is delivered to the warehouse, it is my job to check out all of it, make sure that they sent the right stuff, then figure out whether it’s for stock in the warehouse or for a customer.  Then, I move the product to the appropriate shelves/carts, and the other warehouse employees make sure that it gets to the right customer or is put away in its appropriate location in the warehouse.

This can seem like a never-ending job, but never more so that it has this week.  This week, not only did we get huge UPS and FedEx deliveries, but the number of pallets that we received was ridiculous!  In one day this week, we received 14 pallets!  For the whole week, we received over 20.

Now, in one day, I can usually get through an average UPS shipment, the normal 5 packages that we get from FedEx, and maybe 2 pallets.

However, when I’m getting a much larger UPS delivery every day, 4 times as many FedEx packages, and 14 pallets in a single day, I end up going into work every day looking at a full receiving area (and it’s a large area) and more just keeps coming in every day.  On top of it, I asked for help, which was promised me, but every day something else kept coming up that prevented me from getting that help.  By the end of the week, I was frustrated, tired, and overwhelmed.

Fortunately, on Friday, my boss did finally find me some much-needed help.  Still, it’s been a rough week for me, and I have never looked forward to a weekend so much as this one!

Leave a Reply

