Book Review: Bloodwitch

On my expedition through the library, I found this book, Bloodwitch, by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes.  Miss Amelia, apparently, was first published at the raw age of thirteen, a highly impressive age.  I’ve been dreaming for all of my life, but at that age I feel like I was still more copy than original.  Another young author, Christopher Paolini, had Eragon published in his young teenage years as well, but was highly criticized for how much the Inheritance Cycle resembled some mix between Lord of the Rings and the Dragonriders of Pern.  As much as I loved the story, the fact is that it was incredibly simple to tell exactly what stories provided him his inspiration.

Now, I have not read Miss Amelia’s earliest books, but Bloodwitch seems, to me, to be wholly original.  She was once referred to as (apparently) a teenage Anne Rice, so I don’t know if her earlier vampire books actually resembled Anne Rice’s writings or not.  However, the vampires in Bloodwitch were very interesting to me; almost super-human-zombie kind of characters, really.

My favorite part about this book was the world that she created.  The book starts in a quetzal’s cage, very small and very beautiful, slowly learning about the vampires.  However, things quickly expand when our main character is thrust out of his beautiful prison and into the harsh realities that exist all around him.  There are many cultures throughout this world, most of them powerful shapeshifter kingdoms that may or may not rival the strength of the Vampire kingdom, Midnight.  There are several different kinds of shapeshifters, each with a different kind of magic or ability.  And, as strong and immortal as the vampires are, they cannot use magic, thus evening our worldly playing field.

And, what about us human?  Well, we are nothing more than weak and expendable slaves, it would seem.  Definitely an interesting look at our own race, don’t you think?

This book was creative and imaginative, and the author did a fantastic job of putting me right in the middle of everything.  I mean, so in the middle, I’m not even sure who I want to be the good guy, and who I want to be the bad guy!  She makes sure that you can see all sides of the war very clearly, so there is no clear good and evil here (and honestly, I really kind of hate good vs. evil stories, they can be so judgmental and predictable!).  She gave me the opportunity to try to decide for myself who I want to be sympathetic for, instead of dictating to me who she thought I should can most about.  It was refreshing.

All in all, I highly recommend the book.  Over the coming months I will most definitely be working to read more of Amelia Atwater-Rhodes’s books.

Leave a Reply

